How to Let Go

Click for audio: How to Let Go

Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority; but the Father who dwells in me does his works” (John 14:10).

Imagine that I hold in my hand a tiny acorn. I announce that I have heard this acorn can become a mighty oak tree, but I am not sure how this is possible. I know the oak tree needs roots, that it has a trunk, branches and lots of leaves. So I appoint four committees. There is the root committee, the trunk committee, the branch committee and the leaf committee. We then begin the process of discussing all the things we should do to bring forth an oak tree. After lengthy discussion, we develop a plan and begin dissecting the acorn. We find there is an embryonic representation of the tree within that seed. Each committee then studies its respective components, carefully removes the embryonic tree, and places it, roots first, in soil.

Can you see any ways that the concept of letting go might apply in this scenario? First of all, do we need the expertise of four committees to make an oak tree happen? No. We can let that go. Do we need to understand how the invisible life energy interacts with the physical seed to make an oak tree happen? No. We can let that go. After some serious deliberation, we will likely conclude that all we need to do is drop the acorn into soil. Now, a soil amending committee might be good. This committee could actually do something useful by creating a rich environment that will nourish our acorn. It might also provide some periodic watering and further nutrients if needed.

So, we have let go, not of our desire to manifest an oak tree, but of the impossibly huge responsibility of making it grow.

Letting go is the process of creating the environment out of which your desires may naturally manifest. If you will let go of your need to create the world of your dreams and focus instead on allowing your free and limitless Self to emerge, you will discover that your life, like the oak tree, begins unfolding in stress-free, balanced and perfectly prosperous ways.

Leave a Reply

