Meditation and Prayer

Understanding Unity Series: Part 5 of 8

Click for audio: Meditation and Prayer

Two words you often hear in Unity are meditation and prayer. Though most of us are familiar with these terms, it’s a good idea to revisit them from the Unity perspective, especially from within the context of the paradigm of oneness.

The paradigm of oneness starts with the idea that we are each one with God. That we are unaware of this relationship of oneness at the experiential level is attributable to the fact that most of us were raised with a paradigm of separation—the belief that God is outside of us, traditionally up in the sky. The paradigm of oneness embraces the idea shared by Jesus that we should not look lo here or lo there for the kingdom of God, for this kingdom is in the midst of, or, within us (Luke 17:21). So it is within that we go. And we do this through the practice of meditation.

Meditation is an intuitive infilling of God’s presence in our awareness. Our first attempts at finding this inner kingdom are thwarted by a busy and easily distracted mind. With practice, however, we become aware of this deeper dimension and it becomes our conscious companion throughout our day.

From the standpoint of the paradigm of oneness, prayer becomes an affirmative process rather than a beseeching activity. If we are one with God already, then we affirm that all the power, all the love, all the life, all the intelligence we need to live a successful life is now present and expressing through us. The beseeching prayer, on the other hand, asks God to give us something that we do not have.

Take the thought, I am in God and God is in me as one you use as a starting point for meditation. Carry this thought throughout your day. In your times of need, affirm the truth about your conditions, that God is present and now manifesting as perfect life, love, power, and intelligence. Affirm the guidance and healing activity of God right now. See God as your unfailing supply. With practice, you will find your mind automatically moving to the paradigm of oneness.

13 thoughts on “Meditation and Prayer

  1. “From the standpoint of the paradigm of oneness, prayer becomes an affirmative process rather than a beseeching activity. ”

    This is an important yet tricky distinction. What of “humility” in this regard?

    1. The experience of the Presence of God instills a natural humility. I am in the Father and the Father in me, yet the Father is greater is the perspective we take on. I of myself can do nothing, yet the affirmative whatsoever you ask in prayer … depicts the natural understanding of oneness.

      1. Suppose I understand myself to be in the presence of God and am humbled by that experience yet I believe that I understand God to be telling me to not take my seriously ill daughter to the doctor.

      2. God would no more tell you that than the sun would tell you to not put on sunscreen. We have the faculty of judgment that we apply in such cases.

        There are always going to be people who abuse or misuse the notion of God as an inner presence, an inner voice. There is, however, a major difference between the “voice” of God and the impulses of one’s ego. Knowing these impulses can and will be confused by ego-dominated individuals is not sufficient grounds for avoiding teaching the inner kingdom message. The spiritually healthy individual will sort through this issue, the spiritually unhealthy individual will exploit and take advantage of it. This has always been the case.

      3. God would no more tell you that than the sun would tell you to not put on sunscreen. We have the faculty of judgment that we apply in such cases.

        There are always going to be people who abuse or misuse the notion of God as an inner presence, an inner voice. There is, however, a major difference between the “voice” of God and the impulses of one’s ego. Knowing these impulses can and will be confused by ego-dominated individuals is not sufficient grounds for avoiding teaching the inner kingdom message. The spiritually healthy individual will sort through this issue, the spiritually unhealthy individual will exploit and take advantage of it. This has always been the case.

  2. I understand the distinction between ‘approaching’ God as one who fulfills my needy soul and that of ‘connecting’ with an ever expressing inner presence that is mystically apart of the mystery of my present inner created being.

    I remember reading Rupolph Otto’s HOLY OTHER and the inner we’ve that it made at the time. I suppose this distinction could be persevered by saying God is within me but I am not God. God is apart of me and I a part of God thus I am not apart from God. I like the phrase the INNER EXPRESSING GOD.

  3. Doug, I like the affirmation that I and the Father are one. Even as a 12 year old, Jesus had a “Father consciousness”. Most of us are starting to develop it a but later in life. Didn’t CF tell us that though we are complete, without the consciousness of it– well, we are evolving. Look, I began to eat of the tree of duality at a young age. I am growing out of it. That is honesty, mind renewal. Don’t you accept reincarnation, Doug, as a mercy of sorts. Wasn’t John also Elijah?

    1. I no longer think of reincarnation as a means of servicing soul evolution. I see the incarnation process as an eternal option for each soul.

      I have no way of knowing if John was Elijah. The two seemed to share many characteristics, as do many others like them.

  4. Doug, I tried your affirmation “I am in God and God is in me” all day. It was a blessing. I am ending the day with peace and comfort. Have you ever written a booklet of affirmations?

  5. Final thought (this blog appears to be static) on the fine audio teaching, how about seeing the Book of Revelation as our developing spiritual consciousness?

Leave a Reply

